Aurora Honors Internationally Recognized Media Artist Doug Aitken

Aurora  Honors Internationally Recognized Media Artist Doug Aitken
Contact Name: Delicia Harvey
Contact Phone: 713-868-2101

Houston, TX - Texas' premiere microcinema, Aurora Picture Show, has named acclaimed artist Doug Aitken as its 2009 Aurora Award recipient. The award will be presented at the ninth annual Aurora Award Dinner on Wednesday, October 7, 2009 at 6:30 p.m. Chaired by Karen and Stephan Farber, the dinner will take place at the The Enclave, a privately-owned warehouse space. The Aurora Award is presented annually to an artist or artists who has/have demonstrated extraordinary talent and originality in the field of media arts. Previous honorees include Tony Oursler, William Wegman, Laurie Anderson, the Ant Farm collective, Isaac Julien, and Miranda July.


Winner of the International Prize at the 1999 Venice Biennale, Los Angeles-based Aitken is best known for his 2007 work, Sleepwalkers, which was presented at the Museum of Modern Art in New York and included the actors Donald Sutherland and Tilda Swinton, musicians Seu Jorge and Cat Power, and actor/street drummer Ryan Donowho. His work, employing multiple screens and incorporating elements of photography, architecture, and other new media, has been shown in solo and group exhibitions all over the world including the Carnegie Museum of Art, Whitney Museum of American Art, and the Pompidou Center in Paris. Aitken has published several books, including Broken Screen: 26 Conversations with Doug Aitken, a collection of interviews with 26 other artists on the topic of narrative and linearity.


The Ninth Annual Aurora Award Dinner will include a special screening of Aitken's Sleepwalkers and Migration, both of which have not been seen in Houston before. Aiding Chairs Karen and Stephan Farber are host committee members Cameron Armstrong, Bill Arning, Cindy Bishop, Sherry and Larry Davis, Martha and Richard Finger, Lynn Goode, Andrea Grover and Carlos Lama, Phil Hudson and Keith Collins, Fredericka Hunter, Toby Kamps, Tracey and Patrick Keegan, Rainey Knudson and Michael Galbreth, Sorcha Landau, Michael T Landrum and Philip Paratore, Judy and Scott Nyquist, Leigh and Reggie Smith, Emily Todd, Carlisle Vandervoort and Gabriela Trzebinski, Lillian and Bob Warren, and Lea Weingarten. Event sponsors include City Kitchen Catering, Saint Arnold Brewery, and Stockholm Krystal Vodka.